Executive Staff

Department of Community and Economic Development

Dennis M. Davin

Dennis M. Davin

Secretary – Department of Community and Economic Development

Dennis M. Davin was appointed to serve as Secretary of the Department of Community and Economic Development in January 2015 by Governor Tom Wolf.

Prior to his appointment, Secretary Davin served for more than a decade as Director of the Allegheny County Department of Economic Development (ACED), where he was responsible for establishing and executing the economic development strategy for Allegheny County. He managed funding from local, state and federal sources to implement economic development activities such as site development, new job creation initiatives, community development, and affordable housing for approximately 1.25 million citizens in 130 municipalities. He also served as Director of the Allegheny County Redevelopment Authority and Executive Director of the Industrial Development Authority, Hospital Development Authority, Higher Education Building Authority, and Residential Finance Authority.

Secretary Davin is a former board member and treasurer of the Allegheny County Airport Authority, a former member of the Pittsburgh Regional Alliance Partnership, Three Rivers Workforce Investment Board, International Economic Development Council, and National Association for Industrial and Office Parks, and a Carnegie Mellon University Center for Economic Development Fellow.

Neil Weaver – Executive Deputy Secretary
Department of Community and Economic Development

Neil Weaver has more than a decade of experience in non-profit and government management, operations, and communications. During his career, Neil has served in executive management at both the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) and the Department of Environmental Protection.

In his current role as Executive Deputy Secretary at DCED, Neil functions as the Chief Operating Officer for the agency that is responsible for spurring economic growth, community revitalization, and job creation throughout the state by providing strategic technical assistance, training, and financial resources to help our communities and industries flourish.

Most recently he served in the Office of Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf where he established the Office of Performance Through Excellence, focused on sustainable government efficiency and performance management programs and training.

In addition to his service in the public sector, Neil has worked at two national environmental firms specializing in client management, government, communications and community relations, and worked as a national fundraising manager for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation in Bethesda, Maryland. His background also includes service as the chief of staff to former gubernatorial primary candidate Kathleen McGinty.

Neil has served as vice secretary-treasurer for the York City General Authority and is currently a member of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education’s Board of Governors where he serves as vice chair of the University Success Committee.

Neil graduated from Clarion University of Pennsylvania with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Communications and currently serves as a member of the Board of Trustees for the University.

Steve D’Ettorre – Policy Director
Carrie Lepore – Deputy Secretary
Office of Marketing, Tourism, and Film
Barry Wickes – Director Legislative Affairs
Lisa Elliott – Deputy Secretary
Office of Administration
Joseph Burke – Deputy Secretary
Office of International Business Development
Carol Kilko – Deputy Secretary
Office of Business Financing
Richard Vilello – Deputy Secretary for Community Affairs and Development
Brent Vernon – Executive Director of the Governor’s Action Team
J. Michael Adams, Jr. – Chief Counsel
Department of Community & Economic Development
Sheri Collins – Acting Executive Director, Governor’s Office of Broadband Initiatives
State Alternate to Governor Wolf, Appalachian Regional Commission