Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) POWER Initiative

ARC is a regional economic development agency representing a unique partnership of federal, state, and local government.

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) POWER Initiative was established by an act of Congress in 1965 and is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts with support from community, business, and civic leaders. Each year Congress appropriates funds for Commission programs, which ARC allocates among its member states. The governors draw up annual state Appalachian strategies and select projects for approval by the federal co-chair. ARC has made investments in comprehensive economic development such as a safe and efficient highway system; education, job-training, and health care programs; water and sewer systems; and entrepreneurial and capital market development.

To learn more about the ARC funding opportunities for PA counties located in the Appalachia, watch our PA Appalachian Regional Commission Funding Opportunities webinar or reference the ARC Funding Opportunities Presentation (.PPT).

Partnerships for Opportunity and Workforce and Economic Revitalization (POWER)

POWER is a congressionally funded initiative that targets federal resources to help coal-impacted communities and regions by cultivating economic diversity, enhancing job training and re-employment opportunities, creating jobs in existing or new industries, and attracting new sources of investment. The focus of ARC’s POWER Initiative for FY20 will remain on investments that are regional, strategic, and transformational and that maximize the economic revitalization of coal-impacted communities and regions. Priority areas for ARC investments for this Initiative include developing a competitive workforce, enhancing access to and use of broadband services, fostering entrepreneurial activities, and developing industry clusters, and align with ARC’s Strategic Investment Goals.

Contact Us

Potential applicants should contact their local development district (LDD) serving the county in which the project is located. The LDD can provide guidance on a project’s eligibility for funding and assistance in preparing a grant application.

You can learn more about ARC’s grants, project guidelines, and how to apply by visiting the ARC website.

Appalachian Regional Counties Map

Appalachian Region Counties Map

*Pennsylvania counties that are part of Appalachia:
Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Venango, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, and Wyoming.

Back To Top