Wolf Administration Approves $6.3 Million in Community Development Block Grants for Projects in 11 Counties

Harrisburg, PA – Today, Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) secretary Dennis Davin announced the approval of more than $6.3 million in Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding for projects in Adams, Blair, Carbon, Centre, Elk, Fayette, Lawrence, Mifflin, Potter, Schuylkill, and

Somerset counties.

“For decades, the Community Development Block Grant program has funded crucial community projects in areas that often need them the most,” Secretary Davin said. “The projects being announced today will fundamentally improve the daily lives of residents across the commonwealth.”

The following areas were recently approved for funding through the CDBG program:

  • $474,196 to be used in Adams County for replacing 100-year-old water mains in Aspers Village, increasing sewer plant efficiency in Tyrone Township, construction of ADA ramps in Gettysburg and Littlestown boroughs, and a healthy living and exercise program for area youth;
  • $807,298 to be used in Blair County for streetscape projects and blight removal in a low/moderate income area, installation of sewer laterals in approximately 40 households, and housing rehabilitation for at least 16 occupied units;
  • $684,016 to be used in Carbon County for street and sidewalk improvements in Franklin Township, Lehighton Borough, and Mahoning Township, water/sewer improvements in Jim Thorpe Borough, Banks Township, and Beaver Meadows Borough, installation of ADA-accessible doors in public facilities in Lansford Borough, and improvements of parks and recreational facilities in Lower Towamensing and Summit Hill Borough;
  • $389,713 to be used in Centre County for replacement of approximately 1,000 feet of the old water transmission main from the Reservoir on Phillips Creek to the Pump Station on Elk Creek that feeds Millheim Borough’s water filtration plant, as well as providing assistance to approximately 30 homeowners for connecting to a new sewer system in Potters Mills, and park improvements;
  • $272,958 to be used in St. Marys City, Elk County for additional handicap parking and construction of pathways for limited clientele throughout Luhr Park and Benzinger Park, removing barriers and constructing ADA pathways to give elderly residents access to downtown businesses on Erie Avenue and Brusselles Street, and addressing blight issues;
  • $750,000 to be used in Bullskin Township, Fayette County for the extension of public waterlines in the Pleasant Valley-Rydle Road area, providing clean and drinkable water to 18 homes and several commercial properties;
  • $554,392 to be used in Lawrence County for completing an affordable housing and implementation plan, street improvements in New Beaver Borough, Ellwood City Borough, and Union Township, and community facilities in Shenango Township;
  • $622,651 to be used in Mifflin County for West Wayne Sewer Authority sewer reconstruction, street improvements and construction throughout the county, streetscape projects in Monument Square in Lewistown Borough, and housing rehabilitation in Brown Township;
  • $750,000 to be used in Shinglehouse Borough, Potter County for reconstruction of the headworks of the Shinglehouse Borough Waste Water Treatment Plant;
  • $275,000 to be used in Reilly Township, Schuylkill County for providing financial assistance to low/moderate income households in the Village of Newtown for connections from individual service lines to the new water main, and indoor plumbing to the service lines; and
  • $750,000 to be used in Meyersdale Borough, Somerset County for Center Street streetscape projects including new sidewalks, curbs, lighting, trees, curb-to-curb pavement restoration, and addressing the water and storm lines.

For more information, visit the DCED website, and be sure to stay up-to-date with all of our agency news on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

Michael Gerber, DCED, 717.783.1132

# # #
Back To Top