National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

Congress established the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) due to escalating costs to taxpayers for flood disaster relief.
National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

The NFIP is based on the agreement that if a community practices sound floodplain management, the Federal Government will make flood insurance available to residents in that community. FEMA maps include the Special Flood Hazard Area, which is the area that has a 1 percent or greater chance of flooding in any given year. Development may take place within the Special Flood Hazard Area if it complies with local floodplain ordinances that meet NFIP criteria.

NFIP Community Ratings System (CRS)

For more information about whether your community is currently participating in the Community Rating System (CRS) or to learn more about how your community can apply to participate in the CRS, visit FEMA’s website. For more information about the CRS or to obtain the CRS application, contact the Insurance Services Office by phone at 317.848.2898 or by email at

Flood Insurance Rate Map Process

The process of creating a flood insurance rate map involves multiple steps which include community feedback and engineering assessments.

If your insurance broker does not offer NFIP insurance, call 1.800.427.4661 for FEMA assistance in finding an insurance broker who carries NFIP policies. FEMA’s NFIP insurance is managed by their Flood Insurance Management Agency (FIMA).

Back To Top