State Planning Board

The State Planning Board is an advisory board within the Governor’s Office. It was established by the Administrative Code of 1929 as re-enacted and amended. There are 25 members, including citizens, legislators and state department heads.


The Board’s duties include studying demographic, economic, and development trends, and preparing strategic plans to promote the welfare of the Commonwealth. It was instrumental in creating the Pennsylvania Turnpike, planning the State Capitol grounds, establishing planning agencies in Pennsylvania’s counties, and enacting the Municipalities Planning Code in 1968.

The Board works with DCED to prepare the State Land Use and Growth Management Report every five years. The report studies development patterns and local government land use planning, and makes recommendations for state agency action, regulations, and programs.

View the Board's most recent annual report.


The State Planning Board meets quarterly at a Harrisburg location on the second Friday of January, April, July, and October.


Membership of the Board includes 15 gubernatorial appointees confirmed by the Senate serving four-year terms. It also includes secretaries from six Commonwealth departments and four representatives from the General Assembly.

Gubernatorial Appointees

  • Chairperson – Alexander J. Graziani, Manager, Penn Township
  • Helen Hanna Casey, President, Howard Hanna Real Estate Services, Pittsburgh
  • William B. Hawk, Chairman, Board of Supervisors, Lower Paxton Township
  • Robert Hess, Bow Creek Farm & Cattle Co., Hershey
  • Susan G. Hockenberry, Executive Director, Local Government Academy, Pittsburgh
  • Roger H. Krey, Councilman, Town of McCandless
  • Allen McIntosh, Warren
  • Joan McMillen, Clearfield
  • John Moyer, Commissioner, Monroe County, Stroudsburg
  • William Piper, Farmer, Carlisle
  • Kurt Schroeder, P.E., Gilmore & Associates Inc., Furlong
  • David Sciocchetti, Competitive Communities LLC, Wallingford
  • Kirk Stoner, Director of Planning, Cumberland County Planning Department, Carlisle
  • Jose Enrique Urdaneta, Lancaster
  • Vacancy

Legislative Appointees

  • Rep. Seth Grove (R-York County)
  • House Democrat, vacant
  • Senate Republican, vacant
  • Senate Democrat, vacant

Cabinet Secretaries

  • Russell Redding, Department of Agriculture
  • Dennis M. Davin, Department of Community and Economic Development
  • Cindy Adams Dunn, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
  • John H. Quigley, Department of Environmental Protection
  • Ted Dallas, Department of Human Services
  • Leslie S. Richards, Department of Transportation
Translate »